The Goethe and Schiller Archive celebrated its grand opening on 28 June 1896. Its construction was commissioned by the Grand Duchess Sophie of Saxe-Weimar-Eisenach for preserving valuable manuscripts by Goethe and Schiller. Situated on park-like grounds near the Ilm, the impressive building was designed by the architect Otto Minckert and paid for by the Duchess personally. Following several minor additions to the building, the archive underwent extensive renovation and expansion from 2010 to 2012.
Three large rooms on the first floor comprise the centrepiece of the building. The middle room is used for temporary exhibitions featuring original manuscripts from the archive. The room on the right is the manuscript reading room and the room on the left is reserved for special events. The latter also contains the personal library of the literary scholar Julius Petersen, president of the Goethe Society from 1926 to 1938.
The gardens surrounding the building offer visitors an ideal place to walk and relax. And from the terrace, one can enjoy a wonderful view of Weimar’s historic downtown.
Individual visitors are welcome to see the archive anytime during opening hours. Advance registration is only necessary for larger tour groups.
Klassik Stiftung Weimar
Kommunikation, Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, Marketing
Phone: +49 3643 545-400
Fax: +49 3643 545-401