Projects of the Klassik Stiftung Weimar are funded by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) and the Free State of Thuringia, represented by the State Chancellery of Thuringia, Department of Culture and the Arts.
Twelve sites in Weimar are designated as UNESCO World Heritage Sites, eleven of which belong to the “Classical Weimar” ensemble, and the Haus Am Horn as part of the “Bauhaus and its Sites in Weimar, Dessau and Bernau”.
In 1998, the UNESCO world heritage committee added the “Classic Weimar” ensemble to its list of World Heritage Sites. Most of the properties listed belong to the Klassik Stiftung. The World Heritage Site includes buildings in Weimar’s old town along with the spacious parks and their individual buildings, which exemplify the cultural epoch of Weimar classicism.
The individual sites are:
The properties belonging to the Klassik Stiftung Weimar are marked with an asterisk.
By adding these institutions to the list of World Heritage Sites, UNESCO pays tribute to “the great significance for art history of the public and private buildings and parks from the heyday of ‘classical Weimar’” and the “outstanding role played by Weimar as a centre of intellectualism in the late 18th and early 19th centuries”.
The Haus Am Horn is considered the precursor of modern residential design. It was here that the revolutionary ideas of the Bauhaus and its unique architectural design were manifested for the first time. Designed by Georg Muche and built for the first major Bauhaus exhibition of 1923, the model house is located a stone’s throw from the Goethe Gartenhaus. All the furniture was designed and produced in the Bauhaus workshops by Bauhaus students, such as Marcel Breuer, Theodor Bogler and Alma Siedhoff-Buscher. As the only example of Bauhaus architecture in Weimar, the Haus am Horn belongs to the UNESCO World Heritage Site “Bauhaus and its Sites in Weimar, Dessau and Bernau”.
In 2001, UNESCO featured all of the handwritten work left by Goethe, which is kept in the Goethe and Schiller Archive, into its programme for preserving the world’s documentary heritage “Memory of the World”.
At the UNESCO General Conference in Abu Dhabi on 9 October 2015, the assembly announced its decision to add selected manuscripts, letters and original prints of Martin Luther to the “Memory of the World” register, two of which are held by the Herzogin Anna Amalia Bibliothek:
The first item is a two-volume German-language edition of the Old and New Testament by Martin Luther and is one of the greatest treasures of the Herzogin Anna Amalia Bibliothek. In contrast to the other 60 or so existing copies around the world, the Weimar edition features unique hand-painted ornamentation of the 128 woodcuts and historiated initials. Not only are these coloured, but exquisitely embellished with blue, green and red opaque paints and partially heightened with gold.
The second item is a short pamphlet with just six pages of text. It contains Luther’s sermon on indulgences and mercy. It was printed in March or April of 1518 by Johannes Rhau-Grunenberg in Wittenberg. The text was almost immediately reprinted in cities through the empire (Leipzig, Augsburg, Nurnberg, Basel, Braunschweig). There is no corresponding manuscript in Luther’s hand which is known to exist, so that citations of Luther are usually taken from Rhau-Grunenberg’s printed pamphlet.
The Weimar Luther holdings survived the fire of 2004 unscathed and are among the oldest preserved at the Herzogin Anna Amalia Bibliothek.