Bronze sculpture by Arnold Kramer: Friedrich Nietzsche sitting in an armchair, 1898

Distinguished Fellows

The Kolleg Friedrich Nietzsche regularly nominates scholars of various national, theoretical and philosophical backgrounds to Weimar as “Distinguished Fellows”. These internationally acclaimed scholars possess an outstanding philosophical, academic or literary reputation. The goal of the “Distinguished Fellowship” programme is to present current political, cultural and academic debates to the public.

„My task, preparing for humanity’s moment of highest self-examination, a Great Noon ... in which it will turn its gaze backwards and forwards, when it will escape from the domination of chance and priests and, for the first time, pose the question ‘why?’, the question ‘what for?’ as a whole.“

Friedrich Nietzsche (Ecce Homo: Dawn of Day, 2)

As part of an extended lecture series, the Distinguished Fellows reflect on the possibility, the necessity and occasionally the impossibility of thinking about the world. They offer unconventional approaches and ponder the “why?“ and the “what for?” – not only for Western culture.

We are pleased to welcome the renowned social psychologist and humanities scholar ProfessorHarald Welzer as our Distinguished Fellow in 2019. He will hold public lectures on the topic “Building the Civilisational Project. The Continuation of Modernism” from 8 to 14 July.

The following is a list of the Distinguished Fellows nominated by the Kolleg Friedrich Nietzsche since its establishment in 1999.

Gianni Vattimo
2000: “Nietzsche and the Philosophy of the Future”

Peter Sloterdijk
Winter 2000/2001: “On Historical and Prophetic Anthropology”

Slavoj Žižek
2001: “The Politics of Fantasy”

Ágnes Heller
Winter 2001/2002: “The Theory of Modernity”

Ernst Tugendhat
2002: “Ideas on an Anthropology”

Klaus Theweleit
Winter 2002/2003: “War and What is Reality?”

Jean Baudrillard
2003: “The Event”

Dieter Henrich
Winter 2003/2004: “Thought and Selfhood. Fundamental Philosophical Questions in Modern Consciousness”

Babette Babich
2004: “Reconciliation and Power: Word, Music, Love”

Michael Hart
2005: “Democracy in the Age of Empire”

Eveline Goodman-Thau
2006: “The Monotheism of Modernism”

Julian Nida-Rümelin
2007: “Freedom and Responsibility”

Giorgio Agamben
2008: “Signatura rerum. The Signature and the Theory of Signs”

Boyan Manchev
2009: “The Crisis of the Political and the Alliteration of the World”

Bazon Brock
2010: “Four Major Lectures on Nietzsche”

Hans Heinz Holz
2010: “Speculative Thinking, Its Basis and Methodology”

Ryôsuke Ôhashi
Winter 2010/2011: “On the West-Eastern Philosophical Debate”

Wolfgang Welsch
2011: “Human and World – Outside the Anthropic Ways of Thinking of Modernism”

Hans Ulrich Gumbrecht
Winter 2012/2013: “Risky Thinking. Proposals on a Genealogy of Western Intellectualism”

Remo Bodei
2013: “Memory and Personal Identity”

Terry Eagelton
2014: “Nietzsche and Marx: Atheism, Materialism, History and Tragedy”

Axel Honneth
2015: “The Idea of Socialism. An Attempt at an Update”

Alexander Nehamas
2016: “Friedrich Nietzsche on Truth and Human Action”

Gertrude Lübbe-Wolff
2017: “Constitution, Democracy and Integration Between the Nation State and Globalisation”

Hans Joas
2018: “Religion and Empire – A History of Entanglement in the 20th Century”

Harald Welzer
Nominated by the Kolleg Friedrich Nietzsche as the Distinguished Fellow of 2019, Harald Welzer will continue the series this July with lectures on “Building the Civilisational Project. The Continuation of Modernism" .

Projects of the Klassik Stiftung Weimar are funded by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) and the Free State of Thuringia, represented by the State Chancellery of Thuringia, Department of Culture and the Arts.

The website of Klassik Stiftung Weimar uses cookies in order to provide you with an optimal service. By using this website, you agree. to Data protection