General opening hours
Winter Wed - Mon 10.00 - 16.00
Summer Wed - Mon 10.00 - 18.00
The Haus Am Horn is the only building designed and constructed by the Bauhaus in Weimar. This model house was built especially for the 1923 Bauhaus exhibition. It provided an opportunity for the Bauhaus masters and students to publicly present their visions of modern living and architecture for the first time. The Haus Am Horn will reopen on 18 May 2019 with a brand-new exhibition.
Based on the exhibition concept from 1923, visitors can experience all the rooms in the one-story model house. Reconstructions of selected pieces of furniture create an even better impression of the interior furnishings as they originally appeared. A comprehensive media guide provides extensive information about the construction of the house, its eventful history and addition to the list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites.
The number of visitors allowed inside the Haus Am Horn is limited for conservatorial reasons. Tours are only possible during regular opening hours. We recommend booking tickets in advance.
Please note there are no parking spaces or possibilities to turn around at the premises of the Haus Am Horn. We recommend that pedestrian visitors follow the marked paths through the Park on the Ilm.
Plans to build a large-scale Bauhaus settlement on the grounds of Am Horn were first proposed in the early 1920s. The Bauhaus exhibition of 1923 offered the Bauhäusler the opportunity to build at least one residential prototype. The painter and youngest Bauhaus master Georg Muche designed the plans, and Walter Gropius’s architectural office oversaw the construction. Without the financial support of the Berlin building contractor Adolf Sommerfeld, the model house “Am Horn” would never have been completed. Not only did it provide a platform for experimentation and advertise new materials and technologies, it also allowed all Bauhaus workshops to collaborate on a joint project.
Adolf Sommerfeld acquired the furnishings of the model residence at the end of 1923, all of which were probably lost during World War II. After a difficult search, a buyer for the house was found in 1924. He attached a veranda to the back and added two new rooms to the house.
By 1951 municipal authorities had finally assumed ownership of the house and rented it to various parties until 1998. The Circle of Friends of the Bauhaus-Universität Weimar took out a lease on the property from 1998 to 2017. In 1998/99 the association initiated a general renovation of the building, during which the annexes were removed. In the following years, the association staged numerous exhibitions and events there. In 2018 the city of Weimar transferred ownership of the Haus Am Horn to the Klassik Stiftung Weimar.