The Haus Hohe Pappeln, built in 1907/08, was the private residence of the Belgian architect and designer Henry van de Velde and his family. Van de Velde drafted the plans for the entire house down to the last detail. The result was an extraordinary Gesamtkunstwerk whose representative living area and garden can still be visited today.

Ein Gesamtkunstwerk – A total work of art

The exterior shape of the building arose from its interior structure. Van de Velde viewed the house as an organism in which each room served a special function in the spatial layout. The wall colours, fixtures, furniture, fabrics, ceramics – Van de Velde designed everything himself and saw to it that every detail harmonised with each other. His plans were based on modern industrial aesthetics and the principle of functionality.

The garden is also an integral part of the overall concept. Each facade is accorded a specific area: he installed a decorative garden with fruit trees facing the street, an open area with burbling fountains for relaxation to the south, and just outside the service rooms, a vegetable garden with a greenhouse.

Visit

The tour of the Haus Hohe Pappeln takes visitors through the garden and into the family’s representative living quarters on the belétage. These include the living hall at the heart of the house, the dining room, the salon, and the study containing its meticulously reconstructed furnishings based on Van de Velde’s plans. The original furniture was shipped out of the country when Van de Velde moved away. The furniture on display today was designed by Van de Velde for the Weimar apartment of the journalist and playwright Max von Münchhausen in 1903.

View from the garden, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2019
Das Haus Hohe Pappeln in Weimar, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2019

History

Henry van de Velde purchased the property at the end of 1906 which, at that time, was located outside of town and surrounded by tall poplars (hence the name “Hohe Pappeln”). He designed every detail of the house where he and his wife Maria and five children lived until 1917. Due to increasing hostility toward foreigners during World War I, the family had no choice but to sell the Haus Hohe Pappeln and leave Germany. Ownership of the villa changed hands frequently in the following years.

The Klassik Stiftung Weimar, which began using the building as a museum in 2003, purchased the culturally and historically significant designer’s home in 2012 with the generous support of the Ilse-Burghardt-Stiftung. The reconstruction of the study in 2015 with its functional yet elegant fixtures and textile elements completed the room layout, which recreated the harmonious impression of the representative belétage.

Projects of the Klassik Stiftung Weimar are funded by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) and the Free State of Thuringia, represented by the State Chancellery of Thuringia, Department of Culture and the Arts.

The website of Klassik Stiftung Weimar uses cookies in order to provide you with an optimal service. By using this website, you agree. to Data protection

agree

Das Haus Hohe Pappeln war das private Wohnhaus des belgischen Architekten und Designers Henry van de Velde. Er ließ es 1907/08 nach eigenen Plänen für sich und seine Familie errichten und entwarf jedes Detail. Er schuf ein einzigartiges Gesamtkunstwerk, dessen repräsentativer Wohnbereich und Garten noch heute besichtigt werden können.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass diese Einrichtung nicht barrierefrei ist.

mehr erfahren

Das Gesamtkunstwerk

Van de Velde entwickelte die äußere Gestalt des Gebäudes aus dessen innerer Struktur. Er verstand das Haus als Organismus, in dem jedes Zimmer eine spezielle Funktion im Raumgefüge einnahm. Wandfarbe, Einbauten, Möbel, Stoffe und Keramiken – alles hatte van de Velde selbst entworfen und harmonisch aufeinander abgestimmt. Er orientierte sich an der Ästhetik der modernen Industrie und gestaltete nach Prinzipien der Zweckmäßigkeit.

Auch der Garten ist Teil der Gesamtkonzeption. Jeder Fassade ist ein anderer Bereich zugeordnet: Zur Straße lag ein Ziergarten mit Obstbäumen, zur Südseite eine Freifläche mit Brunnen zum Verweilen und vor den Wirtschaftsräumen des Hauses ein Nutzgarten mit Gewächshaus.

Besichtigung

Der Rundgang umfasst den Garten und den repräsentativen Wohnbereich der Familie in der Beletage: Dazu gehören die Wohndiele als zentraler Knotenpunkt des Hauses, das Speisezimmer, der Salon und das Arbeitszimmer mit der nach historischem Vorbild aufwendig rekonstruierten Einbaumöblierung. Das originale Mobiliar des Hauses gelangte mit van de Veldes Auszug ins Ausland. Die heute ausgestellten Möbel hatte er 1903 für die Weimarer Wohnung des Journalisten und Dramatikers Max von Münchhausen entworfen.

Blick aus dem Garten, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2019
Das Haus Hohe Pappeln in Weimar, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2019

Geschichte

Ende 1906 erwarb Henry van de Velde ein zu seiner Zeit außerhalb der Stadt gelegenes und von hohen Pappeln gesäumtes Grundstück. Nach eigenen Entwürfen ließ er sich dort ein Wohnhaus erbauen, in dem er mit seiner Frau Maria und den fünf Kindern bis 1917 lebte. Aufgrund der wachsenden Ausländerfeindlichkeit während des Ersten Weltkrieges musste die Familie Deutschland verlassen und das Haus Hohe Pappeln verkaufen. Die Eigentümer der Villa wechselten in rascher Folge.

Die Klassik Stiftung Weimar, die das Gebäude seit 2003 als Museum nutzt, erwarb das kulturhistorisch wertvolle Künstlerhaus 2012 mit der Unterstützung der Ilse-Burghardt-Stiftung. Der Nachbau des Arbeitszimmers mit den gleichermaßen funktionalen wie eleganten Einbauten und den textilen Elementen ergänzte 2015 die Raumabfolge, sodass die repräsentative Beletage wieder den ursprünglichen harmonischen Gesamteindruck vermittelt.

Vorhaben der Klassik Stiftung Weimar werden gefördert durch den Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung (EFRE) und den Freistaat Thüringen, vertreten durch die Staatskanzlei Thüringen, Abteilung Kultur und Kunst.

Der Internetauftritt der Klassik Stiftung Weimar verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen einen optimalen Service zu bieten. Durch die Nutzung dieser Webseite erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden. Zur Datenschutzerklärung

Verstanden