An ailing Friedrich Nietzsche spent his final years at the “Villa Silberblick” in the care of his sister Elisabeth Förster-Nietzsche. After his death, she commissioned Henry van de Velde to refurbish the building, especially the rooms of the archive. The interior designs and furnishings are among the most exquisite creations ever made by the Belgian architect and designer.

Exhibition

The tour takes visitors through the rooms designed by Henry van de Velde: the former dining room, the library and meeting room, and the archivists’ study. The room ensemble is a Gesamtkunstwerk which is almost completely preserved in its original condition. Van de Velde designed the interior furnishings from top to bottom – not only the wooden fixtures and flooring, but also the furniture and upholstery, doors, ovens, lamps and decorative vases.

The centrepiece of the presentation is the library with Max Klinger’s marble herm of Nietzsche and Van de Velde’s interior furnishings. An exhibition in the former dining room documents the ambivalent history of the building and the role it played in the Nietzsche cult during the Nazi era. Since 1999 the Kolleg Friedrich Nietzsche has conducted research in upstairs rooms of the villa and regularly holds public events at the Nietzsche-Archiv.

History

The Nietzsche-Archiv was founded in Naumburg in 1894 by Elisabeth Förster-Nietzsche and relocated to Weimar in 1896. She moved into the “Villa Silberblick” in 1897 where she cared for her ailing brother. Friedrich Nietzsche died in the house on 25 August 1900. At the recommendation of Harry Graf Kessler, she commissioned Henry van de Velde to renovate and refurbish the villa in 1902. His proposed modifications to the entry way and vestibule, library, meeting room, study and dining room made better use of the available space and increased the overall aesthetic quality. Nietzsche’s written estate was stored at the villa until 1950. With the exception of selected historical items, the estate is now stored in the archives, stacks and storage rooms of the Klassik Stiftung Weimar.

Projects of the Klassik Stiftung Weimar are funded by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) and the Free State of Thuringia, represented by the State Chancellery of Thuringia, Department of Culture and the Arts.

The website of Klassik Stiftung Weimar uses cookies in order to provide you with an optimal service. By using this website, you agree. to Data protection

agree

In der Villa „Silberblick“ verbrachte der kranke Friedrich Nietzsche, gepflegt von seiner Schwester Elisabeth Förster-Nietzsche, die letzten Lebensjahre. Nach seinem Tod ließ sie das Gebäude, besonders die Archivräume, von Henry van de Velde umgestalten: Innenarchitektur und Ausstattung zählen zu den gelungensten Schöpfungen des belgischen Architekten und Designers.

Ausstellung

Der Rundgang umfasst die von Henry van de Velde gestalteten Erdgeschossräume: das ehemalige Speisezimmer, den Bibliotheks- und Vortragsraum sowie das Arbeitszimmer für Archivare. Das Raumensemble ist als Gesamtkunstwerk fast vollständig erhalten. Van de Velde entwarf das komplette Interieur: nicht nur die hölzernen Einbauten und Bodenbeläge, sondern neben den Möbelstücken mitsamt Stoffbezügen auch den Flügel, die Öfen, Lampen und dekorativen Vasen.

Im Mittelpunkt der Präsentation steht der Bibliotheksraum mit der von Max Klinger geschaffenen Nietzsche-Herme aus Marmor und der von van de Velde entworfenen Inneneinrichtung. Im ehemaligen Speisezimmer dokumentiert eine Ausstellung die widerspruchsvolle Geschichte des Hauses und dessen Rolle im Nietzsche-Kult des Nationalsozialismus. Heute finden hier auch Veranstaltungen des Kollegs Friedrich Nietzsche statt, das seit 1999 seinen Sitz im ersten Obergeschoss der Villa hat.

Geschichte

Das Nietzsche-Archiv wurde 1894 von Elisabeth Förster-Nietzsche in Naumburg gegründet und 1896 nach Weimar verlegt. 1897 bezog sie die Villa „Silberblick“, um ihren Bruder aufnehmen und pflegen zu können. Friedrich Nietzsche starb in diesem Haus am 25. August 1900. Auf Anregung Harry Graf Kesslers erhielt Henry van de Velde 1902 den Auftrag zum Umbau und zur Neueinrichtung der Villa. Seine gestalterischen Maßnahmen für eine verbesserte Raumnutzung und erhöhte ästhetische Qualität betrafen das Eingangsportal mit Vestibül, den Bibliotheks- und Versammlungsraum sowie ein Arbeits- und  Speisezimmer. Bis 1950 beherbergte die Villa Nietzsches Nachlass, der heute, mit Ausnahme der ausgestellten Stücke, in den Archiv-, Bibliotheks- und Depoträumen der Klassik Stiftung Weimar aufbewahrt wird.

Vorhaben der Klassik Stiftung Weimar werden gefördert durch den Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung (EFRE) und den Freistaat Thüringen, vertreten durch die Staatskanzlei Thüringen, Abteilung Kultur und Kunst.

Der Internetauftritt der Klassik Stiftung Weimar verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen einen optimalen Service zu bieten. Durch die Nutzung dieser Webseite erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden. Zur Datenschutzerklärung

Verstanden