The Schiller Museum was constructed between 1984 and 1988, the first and only literature museum built in former East Germany. With its close ties to the poet’s historical residence, the museum was originally dedicated to celebrating the life and works of the versatile German poet. Today, it serves as a venue for temporary exhibitions of the Klassik Stiftung Weimar.

Museum

The museum was built on the north side of Friedrich Schiller’s historical residence. It opened on 10 November 1988 in commemoration of his 229th anniversary.

Designed in a postmodern style, the reinforced concrete structure with a partial glass facade provided a venue for lectures and some 400 m2 of floor space for exhibitions on the life, works and lasting influence of this famous poet, doctor and philosopher.

The museum has been used as a venue for temporary exhibitions since 1999. In 2018 the museum was designated a cultural landmark and is now part of the “Altstadt Weimar” (Old Town Weimar) monument ensemble.

In summer 2019 a new, central museum shop will open on the ground floor, containing numerous items related to Weimar Classicism.

Projects of the Klassik Stiftung Weimar are funded by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) and the Free State of Thuringia, represented by the State Chancellery of Thuringia, Department of Culture and the Arts.

The website of Klassik Stiftung Weimar uses cookies in order to provide you with an optimal service. By using this website, you agree. to Data protection

agree

Das von 1984 bis 1988 errichtete Museum ist mit dem historischen Wohnhaus von Friedrich Schiller verbunden und war ursprünglich dem Leben und Wirken des vielseitigen Dichters gewidmet. Es ist der einzige Neubau eines Literaturmuseums in der DDR. Heute finden hier Wechselausstellungen der Klassik Stiftung Weimar statt.

Museum

Das Museum wurde an der Nordseite des historischen Wohnhauses von Friedrich Schiller angebaut und anlässlich seines 229. Geburtstages am 10. November 1988 eröffnet.

Die postmoderne Architektur, ein Stahlbetonbau mit teilweise verglaster Fassade, bot Platz für Vorträge und rund 400 Quadratmeter für Ausstellungen über das Leben, Schaffen und die Wirkungsgeschichte des Dichters, Arztes und Philosophen.

Seit 1999 finden im Schiller-Museum, das 2018 zum Kulturdenkmal ernannt wurde und das dem Denkmalensemble „Altstadt Weimar“ angehört, Wechselausstellungen statt.

Im Sommer 2019 wird im Erdgeschoss des Gebäudes ein neuer, zentraler Museumshop zu zahlreichen Themen der Weimarer Klassik eröffnen.

Vorhaben der Klassik Stiftung Weimar werden gefördert durch den Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung (EFRE) und den Freistaat Thüringen, vertreten durch die Staatskanzlei Thüringen, Abteilung Kultur und Kunst.

Der Internetauftritt der Klassik Stiftung Weimar verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen einen optimalen Service zu bieten. Durch die Nutzung dieser Webseite erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden. Zur Datenschutzerklärung

Verstanden